Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Dynamic SQL Statement (Oracle8i and Forms6i)
Dynamic SQL Statement [message #467503] Sun, 25 July 2010 00:07 Go to next message
mkhalil
Dear Fellows,

Hope you are fine. I have a problem that i have hard coded the username.tablename in each select statement of all forms of my application. Now i want to use a dynamic variable in place of username in each select statement throughout the application. The example is:
select * from scott.emp

and i want to write it as:
select * from variable.emp

But at compilation of the form the compiler should know the above variable name.

I have tried to use following select statement but it does not work.
select user into :global.username from user_users

I think perhaps my problem would be solved with Dynamic SQL Statement but i have no experience by using this statement.

Would any guy help me in this regard? Thanks in advance for giving me your precious time and knowledge.

Muhammad Khalil
Re: Dynamic SQL Statement [message #467508 is a reply to message #467503] Sun, 25 July 2010 01:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Quote:
I think perhaps my problem would be solved with Dynamic SQL Statement but i have no experience by using this statement.

Yes, you have to.

PL/SQL User's Guide and Reference
Chapter 7 Performing SQL Operations with Native Dynamic SQL

Regards
Michel
Re: Dynamic SQL Statement [message #467519 is a reply to message #467508] Sun, 25 July 2010 03:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Quote:
i have hard coded the username.tablename

Why did you do that?
Quote:
Now i want to use a dynamic variable in place of username in each select statement throughout the application.

Cool. I hope your application isn't complex.