Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » RECORD_GROUP (oracle 10g forms)
RECORD_GROUP [message #473821] Tue, 31 August 2010 20:58 Go to next message
pverma
Hi

I am new to Oracle form. I need your help in understanding the concept of record_group in forms.

I have one LOV ,which i understand created based on Record_group SQL query.
Now In that LOV i have three columns, like deptno,ename,job

Now i would like to delete some names from that LOV and then insert new names in that list.
I don't want to delete that names from base table.

I was trying to get the value of record_group
using get_group_row_count , but some reason i am not able to solve this.

please provide me some information so that i can start working on this.

i do undeerstand that record group is like a table having data in row's and column form based on logical information.

please guru's help me to understand the concept for this topic

thanks in advance.
Re: RECORD_GROUP [message #473861 is a reply to message #473821] Wed, 01 September 2010 04:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
It's better to think of a record group as just a query.
If you want to remove values from an LOV then you should alter the record group query so that it doesn't select them.
Re: RECORD_GROUP [message #473886 is a reply to message #473861] Wed, 01 September 2010 07:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
pverma
Thanks for reply, but the thing is that in my requirement i can't do any change in that SQL. i need to work on this LOV and delete old values and insert new values
Re: RECORD_GROUP [message #473887 is a reply to message #473886] Wed, 01 September 2010 07:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
Why on earth not?
That's the simple way to fix it.
Re: RECORD_GROUP [message #473985 is a reply to message #473821] Wed, 01 September 2010 17:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
pverma