Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Stopping forms message Do you want to save the changes...? (Oracle forms 10g)
Stopping forms message Do you want to save the changes...? [message #501071] Fri, 25 March 2011 10:14 Go to next message
Vachaun22
First, I need to emphasize that I am in no way an Oracle forms developer, this project is for a college course. I'm a C++ programmer by training.

I have a form that I am laying out with a search button, add button, update button, execute button along with a few text boxes that are derived from a database table.

The search button simply clears the form, enables the text box controls for editing, disables all buttons except the execute, and sets a form variable to flag the form is in search mode (add/update work very similarly).

My issue, is since I am clearing the text box controls at run-time, the form believes I have made a change. Now when I click the execute button to issue the commands, I get a message box asking if I would like to save the changes.

This is very troublesome, as no changes have been made, as far as the user is concerned, so they should not see this box.

I have thought about making the form a custom form, but how would I do a generic search where I can step through the records like I can with a form derived directly from a table? Also, I'm not sure that would even make a difference as to whether the message is shown or not.

For someone who programs in an environment where I am in control of most things, this seems counter intuitive, almost to the point of being prohibitive in functionality. Is there a way I can avoid the form wanting to cause a form commit?

Thanks.

--- EDIT ---
I believe I have this solved.

I stopped clearing the controls, and after setting the enabled state as desired and setting the focus to the correct control, I then used the ENTER_QUERY; statement. This seemed to have corrected the issue.

[Updated on: Fri, 25 March 2011 10:19]

Report message to a moderator