Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Cannot display image from blob column in stored procedure
icon9.gif  Cannot display image from blob column in stored procedure [message #528830] Thu, 27 October 2011 06:42 Go to next message
trungquan710

I'm a newbie to Oracle Form. Please help me solve this problem.

I have a table named PRODUCT (ID Number , ProductImage BLOB). I have inserted some records in.

I want to create a form for user to view this table.

When I create Data Block, in Data Block Wizard, if I select option 'Table or View' to retrieve data, it's ok (Data type of item ProductImage is Image, when I run form and query, it display image normally).

BUT, I want to retrieve data from stored procedure in a package. This is my package code:

PACKAGE my_pkg IS
    TYPE my_rec IS RECORD
    (
      myID PRODUCT.ID%TYPE,      
      myImage PRODUCT.ProductImage%TYPE
    );
   TYPE my_tbl IS TABLE OF my_rec INDEX BY BINARY_INTEGER;   
   PROCEDURE Do_Query (p_my_tbl IN OUT my_tbl);
END my_pkg;

PACKAGE BODY my_pkg IS
  PROCEDURE Do_Query (p_my_tbl IN OUT my_tbl) IS
    CURSOR my_cur IS
      SELECT p.ID, p.ProductImage
      FROM PRODUCT p;
      idx NUMBER := 1;
  BEGIN
    FOR rec IN my_cur LOOP
      p_my_tbl(idx) := rec;
      idx := idx + 1;
    END LOOP;
  END Do_Query;

END my_pkg;

I select option 'Stored Procedure' in Data Block Wizard, then select my stored procedure (my_pkg.Do_Query). Next I choose 2 columns from my stored procedure (ID, ProductImage). The wizard still applys data type of ProductImage as Image. I finish Data Block Wizard and Layout Wizard... run form, query and an error message display:

FRM-40364: The data type of item 'ProductImage' does not match the corresponding column in the stored procedure.

I try to change 'myImage PRODUCT.ProductImage%TYPE' -> 'myImage BLOB' in my package but still get that error. I have searched on Internet for some hours, but couldn't find any solution.

Please help me. And sorry for my bad English.